Midnight Legacy, by Melanie Hughes

Published November 1st, 2017

£4.99 (e-book)
£10.00 (print)

9780995538665 (e-book)
9780995538672 (print)

By Melanie Hughes

Nita’s story continues. She and Rikh arrive in Madras. Rikh’s squadron is based in Ambala, one of India’s oldest military bases and head of operations for the Combined Allied Forces. Rikh takes part in bombing raids on Burma. Bored and miserable, Nita has an affair with a young pilot. She leaves Rikh and goes to Lahore, ‘the Paris of the East’. She discovers she is pregnant when the Second World War ends and communal violence is building up all over India. After meeting up again briefly with Lal, an Indian Prince, Nita finally moves to Dehra Dun. In an orgy of violence, India at last achieves her independence.

The first novel about Nita is War Changes Everything.

Melanie Hughes

Melanie Hughes was brought up in Harrow and trained at the Central School of Speech and Drama. She went on to act in theatre, television and films. She began writing for Ken Russell in the television series “Lady Chatterley” and then worked on further …

Visit Melanie Hughes‘s page